Skip to content

Brexit and country codes from 1 January 2021 

Publication date 13.11.2020 8.45
Press release

The European Commission has defined the country codes that will be used in customs declarations from the start of 2021 when the transition period of the Brexit withdrawal agreement ends. 

The United Kingdom is made up of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. With the Brexit agreement, Great Britain left the EU, but Northern Ireland still remained part of the internal market of the EU. 

From 1 January 2021, the following country codes must be used in customs declarations:

  • The country code of Great Britain is GB. England, Scotland and Wales constitute Great Britain.
  • The country code for Northern Ireland is XI. Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom but not of Great Britain.
  • Contrary to previous information, the code XU will not be used in customs declarations.

More information:

Brexit Uudistuvan lainsäädännön ja tulli-ilmoittamisen tiedotteet